5 stars

Guy Porcher

Very good trip !

One very good week from Amsterdam to Bruges
Very friendly staff good food and nice bikes riding
Very fair attitude on this corona time, our original booking was on Danube région and we get an upgrade to switch on Netherlands area.

Reply from Boat Bike Tours Dear Guy, Thanks very much for your review. We are happy you enjoyed your time in the Netherlands and Belgium. Team Boat Bike Tours
5 stars

Nan Ryder Gray

We are very disappointed that our June 26 trip was cancelled but have nothing but compliments for how Boat/Bike handled the cancellation. They kept us informed about the problems we face and answered our questions in a timely fashion (usually within 24 hours.) We have used our Covid Vouchers to rebook the trip for 2021. Hopefully all goes well then.

Reply from Boat Bike Tours Thank you for your support in these difficult times. We hope that in 2021 you will be able to enjoy a wonderful boat bike tour again. Team Boat Bike Tours
5 stars

T. van Dussen

Vandaag teruggekomen van een tour Amsterdam-Maastricht. Alles was TOP! Heel lekker gefietst, ondanks het niet al te beste weer. Heerlijk gegeten. Fijne douche aan boord.

5 stars

Anita Jencio

Wir waren mit bei den ersten auf der Wapen fan Fryslan Tour Ijselmeer/Wattenmeer im Juni. Und es war mit einer der schönsten Urlaube!! Das Schiff, die Crew, die Mitreisenden, die Radausflüge, segeln, viel zu viel leckeres Essen ….. Wir hatten nicht eine einzige Sekunde Bedenken bez. Corona. Wir können eine Boat & Bike Tour aus voller Überzeugung empfehlen. Anita & Uwe

5 stars

Rudolf Saier

Wir haben zu ersten Mal eine Reise bei BoatbikeTours gebucht und auch jetzt gemacht.
Die Buchung war im November 2019, Anzahlung wurde geleistet und dann kam Corona.
In dieser Zeit wurden wir von BoatBikeTours zwar knapp aber ausreichend und laufend informiert. Die Reise sollte am 20.06.2020 starten – 1 Woche Südtour mit Schiff De Amsterdam.
Ende Mai wurde mitgeteilt, dass die Reise stattfinden kann – daraufhin haben wir die Restzahlung gemacht, welche bereits Ende April fällig war und kurz darauf den Voucher erhalten. Wieder kurz danach wurde mitgeteilt, dass die Reise mit dem Schiff De Amsterdam nicht gemacht werden kann, weil nur mit höchstens 30 Gästen gefahren werden darf und damit ist dieses Schiff nicht mehr wirtschaftlich zu betreiben. Als Ersatz wurde die Magnifique IV angeboten, welche nagelneu wäre und wir die ersten Gästen darauf wären. Natürlich haben wir zugestimmt und als Upgrade eine Suite erhalten.
Am 20.06.2020 sind wir dann mit dem Auto angereist und haben den Parkservice für 145 €uro genutzt, welcher hervorragend funktioniert hat (auch die Rückgabe).
Die Reise war insgesamt toll – die Leute an Bord (Skipper, Matrose, Reiseleiter, Koch, Service) äußerst freundlich, zuvorkommend und tiefenentspannt. Das Schiff und die Einrichtung war vom Feinsten und nagelneu. Bei der Wasserversorgung unserer Kabine gabs einen kleinen Fehler (kommt bei neuen Schiffen durchaus mal vor), welche aber schnell und professionell bereinigt wurde. Unterkunft und Verpflegung waren sehr gut und ausreichend, bei den Mahlzeiten wurde alles serviert und wir wurden mit entsprechendem Abstand platziert. Die Routenvorschläge waren sehr gut und verständlich – wir haben die GPS-Tracks nicht genutzt und waren ‘analog’ mit den Rädern unterwegs.

Also alles sehr gut – bis auf die Hellhörigkeit des Schiffes, welche bei frühen Schlafengehen dann schon gestört hat. Wer sich bis zu später Stunde an der Bar aufgehalten hat, hat dies natürlich nicht mitbekommen – ergo: wer da empfindlich ist – Aushalten bis zum Schluss oder Ohrenschutz.

Wir würden weitere Reisen mit diesem Anbieter jederzeit machen und können sie mit guten Gewissen empfehlen – Organisation, Durchführung und Betreuung alles professionell und gut.

Off topic:
Der Vorposter hat sich zu Recht über die Einbehaltung der Anzahlung geärgert – uns ging mit dem Anbieter Berge+Meer ähnlich und es gab einen längeren Mailverkehr, bis dann nach 3 Monaten ein Orderscheck mit dem Betrag der Anzahlung ohne weiteres Anschreiben oder Erklärung im Briefkasten lag.

1 star

Chris Ender

Es mag sein das viele gute Erfahrungen mit dieser Firma haben. ich selbst kann dies nicht bestätigen.
Nach einer von Boat Bike Tours abgesagten Reise verweigert die Firma die sofortige Rückzahlung der geleisteten Anzahlung und erklärt, man habe erst nach einem Jahr Anspruch auf Bar-Rückzahlung. Es ist einfach unverschämt, wie sich hier unter Mißachtung geltenden Rechts zinslose Kredite von Kunden genommen und Kunden regelrecht abgewimmelt werden.
Selbst der mehrfache Hinweis, dass ein Gutschein aus verschiedenen Gründen abgelehnt wird, führt zu der sterotypen Antwort, man hätte erst nach 1 Jahr Anspruch auf Bar-Rückzahlung.
Für wie dumm hält das Management der Firme seine Kunden eigentlich?
Dummdreiste, rechtswidrige Festlegungen, unheimliche Arroganz und Ignoranz.
Oder soll vielleicht auf diese Weise mit den zu Unrecht einbehaltenen Kundengeldern eine drohende Insolvenz verhindert werden?
Dann wäre das schon kriminell!!!!
Also lernen durch Schmerz und gerichtliche Klärung, was ich auch allen anderen Betroffenen raten würde.
Als Kunde kann mich diese Firma vergessen.
NIE WIEDER!!!!

Reply from Boat Bike Tours Sehr geehrter Herr Ender, Wir finden es sehr unangenehm zu lesen, dass Sie so unzufrieden und verärgert sind. Wir möchten immer gerne mit unseren Gästen in Kontakt treten und bleiben, aber das Schwierige daran ist, dass wir Sie weder in unserem System noch in der Korrespondenz über eine Stornierung finden können. Vielleicht haben Sie bei einer anderen Reiseorganisation gebucht? Wie auch immer, wir finden es sehr ärgerlich zu lesen, dass jemand mit Boat Bike Tours unzufrieden ist. Wir haben dieses Gutscheinverfahren schon seit geraumer Zeit, und es ist eine von der Regierung akzeptierte Art, in dieser schwierigen Zeit Geschäfte zu machen. Niemand verliert sein Geld, die Reise kann auf einen anderen Termin verschoben werden und dann können sie immer noch unsere schönen Reisen machen (mit Rabatt!). Das Geld bleibt beim Gast, als "Sicherheit" für eine neue Reise. Vielleicht eine Beruhigung: Wir haben unsere Reise wieder aufgenommen. Natürlich brauchen wir dafür unsere Gäste, aber von einem drohenden Bankrott kann keine Rede sein. Team Boat Bike Tours
1 star

Fred Halldorson

We have been trying for weeks to have our deposit refunded from this less than customer friendly company. My wife has a compromised immune system, along with international air flights being cancelled make it impossible to travel. These people are only interested in squeezing money from people who they know can’t travel. I wonder how they will act once someone gets the covid19 pandemic on one of there boats as the pandemic is still alive and well in Holland. Shame on these guys for the totally greedy way they are treating their customer. I can’t imagine people having a very good experience on these potential covid19 death traps. Shame on you
Fred Halldorson

Reply from Boat Bike Tours Dear Mr. Halldorson, I looked into your situation and I understand you are worried, You received an e-mail from me on 25 May that we are resuming our tours from 17 June 2020 onwards. You replied to this mail 6 days (not weeks) ago that you prefer to cancel. We have been in contact with you almost every day since 6 June. Your trip is planned for 1 August. We are completely ready to give our guests a great holiday experience in The Netherlands. Because the COVID-19 situation is now very stable in The Netherlands our government decided to open up the country step by step. Furthermore, our tours or ships I believe you refer to, are not 'COVID-19 death traps'. I am very sorry you think this way. We have offered you to rebook to a later date. But because we haven't received an answer, we will contact you as soon as possible. I am sure we will find a good solution. Best regards, Laurens Winkel
1 star

Jack Patterson

DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!!
Our facts: 1. We booked our BBT Tour May 2019 with a contract that provides 100% refund (within 14 days) if BBT cancels the tour.
2. Tour was cancelled last month by BBT as it should have been with C-19.
3. Despite several requests, Laurens Winkel, BBT owner REFUSES to honor the deposit contract and WILL NOT RETURN our money!
4. We told BBT that health issues prevent us using a worthless-to-us “voucher” he offered! He still refuses to refund our deposit, weeks after the cancellation!
5. Is the reality that a company ignoring customer service, and that breaks both verbal and written contracts so they can “steal” my money, may not be in business much longer???

Reply from Boat Bike Tours Dear Mr Patterson, We are very sorry you are so disappointed. We believe that we have made you a reasonable proposal: A guaranteed Corona Voucher for the full value of your deposit with the possibility to book a trip in the future (including the 2022 season) with a 10% discount. Moreover, we promised you a reimbursement of the value of this travel credit in case - after a period of 365 days - you did not use the travel credit of your Corona Voucher. Issueing vouchers instead of cash refunds is common practise of the entire European travel in this pandemic crisis. This is basically to avoid the whole travel industry going bankrupt and in Europe it is widely accepted by governmental authorities overseeing these commercial practices. We also receive a lot of support and positive reactions from our guests looking forward to traveling with us later this season or next seasons. Also my team and I explained to you that this voucher is not “worthless” because it is fully guaranteed by the highly respected Dutch Travel Guarantee Fund SGR. As a team we truly internalized our company values in our hearts and, like I told you, some people in the office were quite impressed (to tears…) by the insults and threats we received in several of your e-mails. For me personally, I was also a bit shocked by your tone-of-voice that I never experienced before in my 20 years operating in this industry, also not in this Corona-crisis. Furthermore you threatened to start with a negative campaign on social media. I quote your text: “I would rather NOT go thru this negative media campaign about your company, but if your choice is to ignore our needs, and *your obligations*, and to be non-responsive to customer service, I will have no choice! I will start my media campaign May 12 unless I hear positively from you.” But maybe I just have to accept that Boat Bike Tours is very good in running beautiful highly valued cycling cruises in Europe and not very good in managing a crisis on this scale. We could have communicated better, I apologized for this. In this crisis the travel industry receives a ‘direct hit’ hence all the billions of dollars of support that big (airline) companies receive. Boat Bike Tours, as a relatively small boutique tour operator, will not receive that level of support. And although we are a financially stable/healthy company (our financial reports are publicly available) we are working hard to survive as a community of ship owners, tour guides, bike specialists, nautical team, chefs, service team and office team (more than 300 families depend on Boat Bike Tours). Mr. Patterson, I am very sorry we are in this situation and that we could not reach agreement. You can expect your money back in due time as described on the Corona Voucher you received, Laurens Winkel Director/owner Boat Bike Tours
4 stars

Paula Ward

Update on situation – as of May 12th we have received the agreed upon remedy for our May 16th trip. Would have preferred better communication initially but am pleased with the end result.

Initial review:
This company has gone radio silent on options for our May 16th Croatia Bike/boat tour. Very disappointed in the customer service as well as wondering if they are as reputable as previous reviews had led us to believe when we booked. Dealing with Covid-19 restrictions, etc is difficult enough – to receive no communication in the interim from this company regarding our trip or options such as: full refund of deposit or option to re-book the cruise for a future date is unacceptable. Other tour companies are providing ongoing communications and options for re-scheduling different trips we have planned.

Reply from Boat Bike Tours Dear ms./mrs. Ward, we are sorry you feel disappointed in Boat Bike Tours, regarding the communication about your planned tour to Croatia in the second half of May, together with others in your group (see also my other replies on their reviews below). We did not go radio silent, we are actually working really hard to communicate with all of our travelers, that had tours planned with departures in March and April. Together with our operating partners, we are constantly reviewing the situation. At this point in time (approx. 6-7 weeks prior to your planned departure) we haven't canceled this particular tour yet, although I understand your concerns to travel to Europe in May. I apologize it might seem like a radio silence, but it just takes time to define the correct policy. Also this particular tour is organized by our partner based in Northern Italy, they are in total lock-down hence the delay in quick response. I do hope you understand we work under extreme difficult circumstances and my team is working very hard to inform all other, hundreds of affected travelers. Today I looked into your personal situation, and I can offer you a ‘Corona Voucher’. This voucher is valid for 365 days, guaranteed by the Dutch Travel Refund Guarantee Fund (SGR) and has the value of 100% of your deposit (no cancellation fee deducted). You (and your fellow travelers) can use this voucher to book any tour in 2020 or 2021. I am convinced this is a good solution in these extreme circumstances. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Laurens Winkel Director/owner
5 stars

Sarah Conrad Van Riper

Boat & Bike Tours allowed us to rebook for the same dates from May 2020 to May 2021 due to Coronavirus Pandemic at the same price. Thank you Boat & Bike Tours.

Reply from Boat Bike Tours Dear Mrs. Conrad Van Riper, we are sorry you feel that Boat Bike Tours is a ‘ruthless and unsecure company’, regarding your planned tour to Croatia in the second half of May - together with others in your group (see reviews below). Together with our operating partners, we are constantly reviewing the situation. At this point in time (approx. 7 weeks prior to departure) we haven't canceled this particular tour yet, although I understand your concerns to travel to Europe in May. I apologize it took us some time to define the correct policy. Your tour in Croatia is organized by our partner that is based in Northern Italy. They are in total lock-down, hence the delay in our response. I hope you understand we work under very difficult circumstances. Today I looked into your personal situation, and I can offer you a ‘Corona Voucher’. This voucher is valid for 365 days, guaranteed by the Dutch Travel Refund Guarantee Fund (SGR) and has the value of 100% of your deposit (no cancellation fee deducted). You (and your fellow travelers) can use this voucher to book any tour in 2020 or 2021. I am convinced this is a good solution in these extreme circumstances. We hope to welcome you again in the future. Best regards, Laurens Winkel Director/owner

Share your Boat Bike Tours experience

By writing a Trustpilot review to inspire others

Write a review now

Request a quote

  • Please enter a number from 1 to 150.
  • Month (March until October) and year
  • Your data